MSM Participants

NameProjectEmailWGs
Geoffrey Abbott, Ph.D.Predictive MSM of Atrial Fibrillation for Therapy DevelopmentGWA2001@MED.CORNELL.EDU
Gary An, M.D.EMT/BSSE: Hierarchical Representation and Simulation of Modular Cellular Systems[1]
Kurt Anderson, Ph.D.Framework for the Adaptive Multiscale Modeling of Biopolymersanderk5@rpi.edu
Russ Altman, M.D., Ph.D.Physics-Based Simulation of Biological Structuresruss.altman@stanford.edu
Portonovo AyyaswamyBridging multiple scales in modeling targeted drug nanocarrier deliveryayya@seas.upenn.edu
Victor Barocas, Ph.D.Multiscale Modeling of Facet Capsule Mechanobiology; Multiscale Mechanics of Bioengineered Tissuesbaroc001@umn.edu
James (Jim) Bassingthwaighte, M.D., Ph.D.Software Integration between JSim and Systems Biology Workbench; Modeling for Heart, Lung, and Blood: From Cell to Organ; Adaptive Multi-Scale Model Simulation, Reduction and Integration for Cardiac Muscle Physiologyjbb2@u.washington.eduModel and Data Sharing Working Group
Daniel Beard, Ph.D.Multi-Scale Modeling of the Heart in Metabolic Syndrome and Cardiovascular Disease, Mechanisms of Metabolic Dysfunction in Heart Diseasebeardda@umich.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Scott Berceli, M.D., Ph.D.Multiscale Network Modeling of Hemodynamically-Driven Vascular Adaptationbercesa@surgery.ufl.edu
Theodore BergerPredictive modeling of bioelectric activity on mammalian multilayered neuronal structures in the presence of supraphysiological electric fieldsberger@bmsr.usc.eduComputational Neuroscience Working Group
Jeff Bischoff, Ph.D.Research Interests: Multiscale Joint Biomechanicsjeff.bischoff@zimmer.com
Michael BlinovNational Resource for Cell Analysis and Modeling; www.ccam.uchc.edu; vcell.orgblinov@uchc.edu 
Danny Bluestein, Ph.D.Optimizing Cardiovascular Device Thromboresistance for Eliminating Anticoagulantsdbluestein@ms.cc.sunysb.edu
Georgiy BobashevResearching Social Dynamics of Local Methamphetamine Marketbobashev@rti.org
James Bower, Ph.D.GENESISBOWER@uthscsa.edu
James Brasseur, Ph.D.Micro-scale Transport as a Critical Link between Molecular-Scale Absorption and Macro-Scale Mixing in Gut Physiology and Functionbrasseur@engr.psu.edu
Markus Buehler, Ph.D.Models to predict protein biomaterial performancembuehler@MIT.EDUIMuBEAM
David CaiCollaborative Research: Cortical Processing across Multiple Time- and Space-Scales http://www.cims.nyu.edu/~yisun/publication.html http://www.rpi.edu/~kovacg/ http://www.math.nyu.edu/~cai/Publications/index.htmlcai@cims.nyu.edu
William Cannon, Ph.D.Hierarchical, Multi-Objective Optimization of Microbial Community Proteomic Systemswilliam.cannon@pnl.gov
Xiaolin Cheng, Ph.D.Multiscale Mathematics and Simulations of Complex Biological Systemschengx@ornl.gov
Howard Chizeck, Sc.D.Adaptive Multi-Scale Model Simulation, Reduction and Integration for Cardiac Muscle Physiology http://nsr.bioeng.washington.educhizeck@u.washington.edu
Yoonsuck Choe, Ph.D.Multi-Scale Imaging, Analysis, and Integration of Brain Networkschoe@tamu.edu
Sharon Crook, Ph.D.NeuroML Standards and Tools for Multiscale Model Specification and ExchangeSharon.Crook@asu.edu
David Christini, Ph.D.Predictive MSM of Atrial Fibrillation for Therapy Developmentdchristi@med.cornell.edu
Ming Dao, Ph.D.Multiscale Modeling and Parallel Simulations of Blood Flow in Cerebral Malaria and Sickle Cell Diseasesmingdao@mit.edu
David D'Argenio, Ph.D.Biomedical Simulations Resource: Core Project #1 - Pharmacokinetic/Pharmacodynamic Systems Analysisdargenio@bmsr.usc.edu
Suvranu De, Sc.D.A Self-Consistent Multiscale Method for Modeling the Effects of Neutron Irradiation on the Mechanical Properties of BCC and FCC Metals; Nonlinear Multiscale Modeling of 3D Woven Fiber Composites Under Ballistic Loading; Development of a Self-Consistent Multiscale Method for Coupled Nonlinear Micro Macro Analysis of Heterogeneous Explosives; http://acor.rpi.edu/, http://www.springer.com/engineering/biomedical+eng/book/978-90-481-3574-5des@rpi.edu
Thomas Deisboeck, M.D.Center for the Development of a Virtual Tumor, CViT https://www.cvit.orgdeisboec@helix.mgh.harvard.edu
Scott Delp, Ph.D.Physics-Based Simulation of Biological Structuresdelp@stanford.edu
Yasin DhaherA Multi-Scale Modeling Construct of Knee Mechanics following ACL Reconstructiony-dhaher@northwestern.eduBiomechanics Working Group
Thomas Diacovo, M.D.Model of Platelet Adhesion and Thrombus Formationtd2142@columbia.edu
Scott Diamond, Ph.D. (Talid Sinno, Lawrence (Skip) Brass)[ www.bloodsystemsbiology.org Blood Systems Biology]SLD@SEAS.UPENN.EDUTheoretical and Computational Methods; Clinical and Translational Issues Working Group
David Eckmann, M.D., Ph.D.Bridging multiple scales in modeling targeted drug nanocarrier delivery // Targeted Microcarrier Design and OptimizationDavid.Eckmann@uphs.upenn.eduClinical and Translational Issues Working Group
Uri Tzvi EdenMultiscale analysis and modeling of spatiotemporal dynamics in human epilepsytzvi@bu.edu
Daniel Einstein3D Imaging & Computer Model of the Respiratory Tractdaniel.einstein@pnl.gov
Mounya ElhilaliOvercoming the Cocktail Party Problem: a Multi-Scale Perspective on the Neurobiology of Auditory Scene Analysismounya@jhu.edu
Ahmet Erdemir, Ph.D.Efficient Methods for Multi-Domain Biomechanical Simulations, Predicting Cell Deformation from Body Level Mechanical Loads, Open Knee: A Three-Dimensional Finite Element Representation of the Knee Jointerdemira@ccf.orgBiomechanics Working Group, Model and Data Sharing Working Group, Committee on Credible Practice of Modeling and Simulation in Healthcare
Arthur Erdman, Ph.D.Modeling, Simulation, and Visualization for Medical Device Design. http://ivlab.cs.umn.edu/NSFNIHBIGDATA/agerdman@umn.edu 
Stephen Eubank, Ph.D.Modeling Immunity to Enteric Pathogens (MIEP)seubank@vbi.vt.edu
Ronan Fleming, Ph.D.Numerical Optimization Algorithms and Software for Systems Biologyronan.mt.fleming@gmail.comMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Joanne Flynn, Ph.D.A multi-scale model to predict outcomes of immuno- modulation and drug therapy during TBjoanne@pitt.edu
Alison GalvaniEvaluating the social influences that impact vaccination decisions; Impacts of Individual and Social Behavior on Influenza Dynamics and Control; http://galvani.medicine.yale.edu/index.aspxALISON.GALVANI@YALE.EDU
Marc GarbeyMultiscale Network Modeling of Hemodynamically-Driven Vascular Adaptationgarbey@cs.uh.eduClinical and Translational Issues Working Group
Guy GeninCross-scale interactions between mineral and collagen for tendon-bone attachmentgenin@wustl.eduIMuBEAM
Frank GertlerModeling bi-directional signaling and cytoskeletal dynamics in 3D cell migrationsfgertler@mit.edu
James GlazierCompuCell3Dglazier@indiana.edu
Mark Gordon, Ph.D.Multiscale Mathematics and Simulations of Complex Biological Systemsgordon@ameslab.gov mark@si.msg.chem.iastate.edu
Weiyong Gu, Ph.D. wgu@miami.edu
Trent Guess, Ph.D.Dynamic Simulation of Joints Using Multi-Scale Modelingguesstr@umkc.edu
Runesha B. Hakizumwami, Ph.D.Modeling, Simulation, and Visualization for Medical Device Design. http://ivlab.cs.umn.edu/NSFNIHBIGDATA/runesha@uchicago.edu
Randy Heiland, M.S.CompuCell3Dheiland@indiana.edu
John HigginsMultiscale Modeling of Sickle Cell Anemia: Methods and ValidationHiggins.John@mgh.harvard.edu 
Anthony Hunt, Ph.D.Media:Research_Description_for_MSM04May10.pdf http://biosystems.ucsf.edu/index.htma.hunt@ucsf.edu
Jay Humphrey, Ph.D.Evolving Mechanics of Intraluminal Thrombus: From Formation to Organizationjay.humphrey@yale.edu
Peter Hunter, Ph.D.International Union of Physiological Sciences Council Memberp.hunter@auckland.ac.nzModel and Data Sharing Working Group
Dov JaronMultiscale, Transport-Dependent NO Signaling: Cells to Vascular Networksdjaron@coe.drexel.edu
Paul JasperNumerical Tools for Analyzing Cell Signaling Circuits in Normal and Tumor Cellspjasper@numericatech.com
Karl JepsenGenetic Determination of Skeletal Fragility 
Yufang Jin, Ph.D.Mathematical Modeling of Matrix Metalloproteinase-9 Driven Left Ventricular Remodeling Post Myocardial InfarctionYufang.Jin@utsa.eduHigh Performance Computing Working Group
Wolfgang Kainz, PhDDevelopment of a functional ultra-high resolution head modelWolfgang.Kainz@fda.hhs.gov 
Roger Kamm, Ph.D.Modeling bi-directional signaling and cytoskeletal dynamics in 3D cell migrations Multi-Scale Analysis of Cellular Force Transmission and Biochemical Activationrdkamm@mit.edu
David Kaplan, Ph.D.Models to Predict Protein Biomaterial PerformanceDavid.Kaplan@tufts.eduIMuBEAM
George Karniadakis, Ph.D.A Stochastic Molecular Dynamics Method for Multiscale Modeling of Blood Platelet Phenomenageorge_karniadakis@brown.eduTheoretical and Computational Methods
Daniel Keefe, Ph.D.Modeling, Simulation, and Visualization for Medical Device Design. http://ivlab.cs.umn.edu/NSFNIHBIGDATA/keefe@cs.umn.edu
Michael KingModel of Platelet Adhesion and Thrombus Formationmike.king@cornell.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Denise Kirschner, Ph.D.A multi-scale model to predict outcomes of immuno- modulation and drug therapy during TBkirschne@umich.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Gregor Kovacic, Ph.D.Collaborative Research: Cortical Processing across Multiple Time- and Space-Scales http://www.cims.nyu.edu/~yisun/publication.html http://www.rpi.edu/~kovacg/kovacg@rpi.edu
Mark KramerMultiscale analysis and modeling of spatiotemporal dynamics in human epilepsymak@bu.edu
Joy Ku, Ph.D.Physics-Based Simulation of Biological Structures; https://simtk.org/xml/index.xmljoyku@stanford.eduModel and Data Sharing Working Group
Niels Kuster kuster@itis.ethz.ch 
Rob Kunz, Ph.D.Multi-Scale Human Respiratory System Simulations to Study the Health Effects of Aging, Disease and Inhaled Substancesrfk102@only.arl.psu.edu
Anthony (Tony) Ladd, Ph.D.Multi-Scale Modeling of Chemical-to-Mechanical Energy Conversion in Actin-Based Motilitytladd@che.ufl.edu
Nicola Lai, Ph.D. (in place of Marco Cabrera)Time Course of Metabolic Adaptations During Loading and Unloadingnicola.lai@case.edu
Robert Latour, Ph.D. latourr@clemson.eduIMuBEAM
Gianluca LazziPredictive modeling of bioelectric activity on mammalian multilayered neuronal structures in the presence of supraphysiological electric fieldslazzi@utah.edu
Peter LazA Multi-Scale Finite Element Musculoskeletal Modeling Framework Applied to Current Issues in Joint ReplacementPeter.Laz@du.edu
Jonathan LedererCalcium Entrained Arrhythmiasjlederer@umaryland.edu
Nicole Yee-Key Li-Jessen  
 nicole.li@mcgill.ca 
Ching-Long Lin, Ph.D.An integrative statistics-guided image-based multi-scale lung model; Multiscale Simulation of Gas Flow Distribution in the Human Lungching-long-lin@uiowa.eduCell-to-Macroscale Working Group
Jennifer Linderman, Ph.D.A multi-scale model to predict outcomes of immuno- modulation and drug therapy during TBlinderma@umich.edu
Yaling Liu, Ph.D.Modeling Particle Shape Effect in Nanomedicineyal310@Lehigh.EDU
Leslie LoewNational Resource for Cell Analysis and Modeling; www.ccam.uchc.edu; vcell.orgles@volt.uchc.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Georg Luebeck, Ph.D.Scales of Carcinogenesis: Cells, Crypts and Cancer; Controlling Esophageal Cancer in the US.: A Colloraborative Modeling Projectgluebeck@fhcrc.org
Bill Lytton, M.D.Extension of NEURON Simulator for Simulation of Reaction-Diffusion in Neurons ; NEURON Simulatorbilll@neurosim.downstate.eduClinical & Translational; Computational Neuroscience
Carlo Maley, Ph.D.Scales of Carcinogenesis: Cells, Crypts and Cancercmaley@wistar.org
Parag MallickMulti-scale Complex Systems Transdisciplinary Analysis of Response to Therapyparagm@stanford.edu
Madhav Marathe, Ph.D.Modeling Immunity to Enteric Pathogens (MIEP)mmarathe@vbi.vt.eduPopulation Modeling Working Group
Roger Mark, M.D., Ph.D.Physionetrgmark@mit.eduModel and Data Sharing Working Group
Vasilis Marmarelis, Ph.D.Biomedical Simulations Resource (BMSR)vzm@usc.edu[Mathematical & Computational Methods]
Andrew McCulloch, Ph.D.Multi-Scale Modeling of the Mouse Heart: From Genotype to Phenotype http://cmrg.ucsd.edu, Multi-Scale Modeling of the Failing Heart for Cardiac Rysynchronization Therapyamcculloch@ucsd.edu
Jill McNitt-Gray, Ph.D.http://www.asbweb.org/index.html ; http://dornsife.usc.edu/cf/faculty-and-staff/faculty.cfm?pid=1003520&CFID=1692145&CFTOKEN=13548813mcnitt@usc.edu
Michael Meyer-Hermann, Ph.D.Mathematical Modeling of the Migration in Germinal Centresm.meyer-hermann@fias.uni-frankfurt.de
George MoodyPhysionetgeorge@MIT.eduModel and Data Sharing Working Group
James Moore, Ph.D.Lymphatic Fluid Flow Modeling with Active Network Componentsjames.moore.jr@imperial.ac.ukBiomechanics Working Group
Ion MoraruNational Resource for Cell Analysis and Modeling; www.ccam.uchc.edu; vcell.orgmoraru@panda.uchc.edu 
Lealem Mulugeta Mulugeta@dsls.usra.eduCommittee on Credible Practice of Modeling and Simulation in Healthcare
Wendy MurrayProsthesis Control by Forward Dynamic Simulation of the Intact Biomedical Systemw-murray@northwestern.edu 
Mark Musen, M.D., Ph.D.The National Center for Biomedical Ontologymusen@stanford.edu
Sriram NeelameghamSystems Biology of Glycosylationneel@buffalo.edu 
Sergey Nuzhdin  snuzhdin@usc.eduPopulation Modeling Working Group
Peter OrtolevaIntercellular Genomics of Subsurface Microbial Coloniesortoleva@indiana.edu
Manish Parasharhttp://nsfcac.rutgers.edu/people/parashar/parashar@rutgers.edu
Abani Patra, Ph.D.http://www.mae.buffalo.edu/people/full_time/a_patra.phpabani@buffalo.edu
Bernhard PalssonNumerical Optimization Algorithms and Software for Systems Biologypalsson@ucsd.edu
Linda Petzold, Ph.D.Stochastic Simulation Service: A Cloud Computing Framework for Modeling and Simulationpetzold@cs.ucsb.eduTheoretical and Computational Methods
Teresa Pitts, Ph.D.Regulation of Airway Protectiontepitts@ufl.eduComputational Neuroscience Working Group
Sylvia Plevritishttp://rsl.stanford.edu/plevritis/ Comparative Modeling of Lung Cancer Control Policiessylvia.plevritis.edu
Aleksander PopelPredictive Experiment-Based Multiscale Models of Angiogenesis in Breast Cancerapopel@jhu.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Vito QuarantaImage Driven Multi-Scale Modeling to Predict Treatment Response in Breast Cancervito.quaranta@vanderbilt.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group
Ravi RadhakrishnanBridging multiple scales in modeling targeted drug nanocarrier delivery // Lab URLrradhak@seas.upenn.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group; Theoretical and Computational Methods; High Performance Computing Working Group
John Rice 

john.rice@noboxes.org

 
Peter RichardsonA Stochastic Molecular Dynamics Method for Multiscale Modeling of Blood Platelet PhenomenaPeter_Richardson@brown.edu
Paul RullkoetterA Multi-Scale Finite Element Musculoskeletal Modeling Framework Applied to Current Issues in Joint ReplacementPaul.Rullkoetter@du.edu
Ilya Rybak, Ph.D.Multiscale Model of Neural Control of Breathingilya.rybak@drexelmed.edu
Gerald Saidel, Ph.D. (in place of Marco Cabrera)Time Course of Metabolic Adaptations During Loading and Unloadinggerald.saidel@case.edu
Edward Sander, Ph.D.Controlling the Mechanobiology of Cutaneous Wounds to Reduce Hypertrophic Scaredward-sander@uiowa.eduCell-to-Macroscale Working Group
Terence Sanger, M.D., Ph.D.High Speed Simulation of Developmental Motor Disorderstsanger@usc.edu
Michael SaundersNumerical Optimization Algorithms and Software for Systems Biologysaunders@stanford.edu
Herbert Sauro, Ph.D.Software Integration between JSim and Systems Biology Workbench, Modeling for Heart, Lung, and Blood: From Cell to Organhsauro@u.washington.eduModel and Data Sharing Working Group
Jay SchieberCISE: Multiscale Modeling to Develop a Cyberinfrastructure for the Dynamics of Flexible and Stiff Entangled Macromolecules http://polyhub.org/bin/viewsjs49@engr.psu.edu
Steven SchiffCRCNS Collaborative Research: Model-Based Control of Spreading Depressionschieber@iit.edu
Bill Schultzhttp://www-personal.umich.edu/~schultz/schultz@umich.edu
James Schwaberhttp://www.dbi.tju.edujames.schwaber@jefferson.edu
Daniel SegreAn Open Source Platform for Multi-Scale Spatially Distributed Simulations of Microbial Ecosystemsdsegre@bu.edu
Terrence (Terry) Sejnowski, Ph.D.Integrated Empirical and Multiscale Modeling of Human Sleep Spindlessejnowski@salk.edu
Kevin ShelburneA Multi-Scale Finite Element Musculoskeletal Modeling Framework Applied to Current Issues in Joint Replacement, http://www.du.edu/biomechanicskevin.shelburne@comcast.net
Yohannes ShiferawMSM of Calcium Mediated Triggered Activity in the Heartyohannes.shiferaw@csun.edu
Jeff Smith, Ph.D.Multiscale Model of Neural Control of Breathingjsmith@helix.nih.gov
Jeremy SmithMultiscale Mathematics and Simulations of Complex Biological Systemssmithjc@ornl.gov
Subra Suresh, Sc.D.Multiscale Modeling and Parallel Simulations of Blood Flow in Cerebral Malaria and Sickle Cell Diseasesssuresh@mit.edu
Maciej Swat, Ph.D.Multiscale Studies of Segmentation in Vertebrate Embryosmswat@indiana.edu
Dalin Tang, Ph.D.In Vivo IVUS Image-Based Modeling for Human Coronary Plaque Assessmentdtang@wpi.edu
Michela Taufer, Ph.D.DAPLDS: A Dynamically Adaptive Protein-Ligand Docking System Based on Multi-Scale Modelingtaufer@acm.org
Merryn Tawhai, Ph.D.Airway Hyperresponsiveness: From Molecule to Organm.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Darryl ThelenA Multi-Scale Modeling Construct of Knee Mechanics following ACL ReconstructionTHELEN@ENGR.WISC.EDU
Ines ThieleNumerical Optimization Algorithms and Software for Systems Biologyines.thiele@googlemail.com
Stavros ThomopoulosCross-scale interactions between mineral and collagen for tendon-bone attachmentthomopouloss@wudosis.wustl.eduIMuBEAM
Natalia TrayanovaResynchronizing the Failing Heart: Insights from a Multiscale Cardiac Modelntrayanova@jhu.edu
Raj Vadigepalli"Modeling Central Autonomic Regulatory Network Adaptation to Hypertension” and “Integrated Modeling of Adaptive Neuronal Regulation”Rajanikanth.Vadigepalli@jefferson.eduComputational Neuroscience Working Group
Peter VekilovMultiscale Modeling of Sickle Cell Anemia: Methods and Validationpgvekilo@Central.UH.EDU
Marco VicecontiInsigneo Institutem.viceconti@sheffield.ac.uk
Paolo Vicini, Ph.D.Research Interests: Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, Biotherapeutics, Translational Research, Model Identification and Parameter Estimationpaolo.vicini@pfizer.com
Yoram Vodovotz, Ph.D.Mathematical Modeling of Inflammation in ARDSvodovotzy@upmc.eduMultiscale Systems Biology Working Group; Clinical and Translational Issues
Jeff Weiss, Ph.D.FEBio-Finite Elements for Biomechanics and Biophysicsjeff.weiss@utah.edu
Ron White, Ph.D.http://sdmines.sdsmt.edu/sdsmt/directory/personnel/rwhiteRonald.White@sdsmt.edu
Bridget Wilson, Ph.D.Mapping and Modeling ErbB Receptor Membrane Topographybwilson@salud.unm.edu
Beth WinkelsteinMultiscale Modeling of Facet Capsule Mechanobiologywinkelst@seas.upenn.eduBiomechanics Working Group
Raimond WinslowCardio Vascular Research Grid Project, http://www.cvrgrid.org  
Joyce Wong, Ph.D.Models to predict protein biomaterial performancejywong@bu.eduIMuBEAM
Tom YankeelovImage Driven Multi-Scale Modeling to Predict Treatment Response in Breast Cancerthomas.yankeelov@vanderbilt.eduClinical and Translational Issues Working Group
Kaiming Ye kye@binghamton.edu
Muhammad ZamanModeling bi-directional signaling and cytoskeletal dynamics in 3D cell migrationszaman@bu.eduBiomechanics Working Group
Yanhang ZhangMulti-Scale Integration of Extracellular Matrix Mechanics in Vascular Remodelingyanhang@bu.eduBiomechanics Working Group
Xiaobo Zhou, Ph.D.Modeling the Growth of the MIC Niche at the System Levelxizhou@wakehealth.edu